It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Having a clear, compelling point of view on todays most debated political and social issues requires finding the most credible facts and insights. Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints simplifies your search by bringing together thousands of resources to provide authoritative articles, research reports, videos, and statistics. This database steers you away from unreliable content that online browsers sometimes serve up and helps you draw your own conclusions about global warming, the minimum wage, and hundreds of other debated topics.
Probably the library's most comprehensive resource, this multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.Professional Development Collectionis the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
Gale In Context: Global Issues supports global awareness and provides a global perspective while tying together a wealth of authoritative content, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world. Explore issues within government, law, health, science and technology, society and culture, and more.
Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more, Global Issues is updated daily and offers 250 country pages and more than 400 issue pages. Exclusive to Global Issues, more than 6,000 viewpoint commentaries provide background and guidance on significant topics like Food Security, Genocide, Human Rights, Extreme Weather, and more. Global Issues is cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints for users with access to both resources.
Full-text access to the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
SEARCH TIP: if you find a newspaper article online behind a paywall, search the title in this database. HOWEVER! The online titles sometimes change throughout the day, so if you don't find it, try searching by the author's name. If you still can't find what you want, come see the librarian.
Access from home.
Logging into the Databases from Home
From school, clicking on any of these links will get you directly to any database.
From home, it's a little trickier. These are subscription databases, which means that someone (either the state of NJ or Northern Highlands) has paid for you to have access, so you have to prove that you are entitled to access them.
For Gale, Infobase, Proquest, JSTOR, and Oxford databases, use the following login credentials:
For EBSCO databases, use:
If you have any difficulty logging in, please email the librarian @ email@example.com, or stop by the Library.
How to Save Links in Databases
Unlike those of a free website, database URLs are dynamic. That means that they change, so if you copy and paste a URL from a database into a Google Doc, the link will not work.
Permanent links are found in different places in different families of databases. The table below will show you where to find permanent links to the database pages you want to visit again.
Scroll to the bottom of the page
Use the URL as you would with an ordinary website.
NoodleTools is not a database, but a suite of software that:
* Does your MLA, Chicago, or APA citation for you
* Allows you to create flexible notecards to keep your research perfectly organized and avoid accidental plagiarism.
* Has a built-in outline tool that can make an instant rough draft of your paper
* Keeps you and your partners organized with project-management tools
* Contains resources about the research, writing, and citation process
* Provides answers to individual student questions about citation
* Allows teachers to create a dropbox where they can comment on your work
NOTE: Use NoodleTools instead of free online tools. The citations are more accurate, and it contains many more features to help you organize your research and avoid plagiarism.
To create an account from school, go to the website, then follow the process for setting up and individual account within Northern Highlands. This is the best way to do it.
If you haven't created an account within school, use
to authenticate yourself as a Northern Highlands student, then follow the steps for creating a personal account.
DO NOT create a free account. It's a stripped-down version with few features.