LibGuides: US History Resources: Home

Historical Topics Databases

Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Organized into a user-friendly portal experience, Biography in Context allows users to find people based on occupation, role, or historical period, or search based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as by keyword and full text. Biography is built on a foundation of more than 600,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Providing coverage of the most searched and studied people, Biography includes over 5,000 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures. Reference content is offered alongside videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers. This resource is continuously updated to ensure users have access to the latest information.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks is a database of specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
U.S. History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. U.S. History merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. These journals are applicable to almost any subject, but be aware that these are academic texts, aimed at researchers who are already familiar with the basics of a topic.

Contemporary Topics Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Probably the library's most comprehensive resource, this multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Global Issues supports global awareness and provides a global perspective while tying together a wealth of authoritative content, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world. Explore issues within government, law, health, science and technology, society and culture, and more.
Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more, Global Issues is updated daily and offers 250 country pages and more than 400 issue pagess.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Having a clear, compelling point of view on todays most debated political and social issues requires finding the most credible facts and insights. Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints simplifies your search by bringing together thousands of resources to provide authoritative articles, research reports, videos, and statistics. This database steers you away from unreliable content that online browsers sometimes serve up and helps you draw your own conclusions about global warming, the minimum wage, and hundreds of other debated topics.
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal,. and Washington Post..
SEARCH TIP: if you find a newspaper article online behind a paywall, search the title in this database. HOWEVER! The online titles sometimes change throughout the day, so if you don't find it, try searching by the author's name. If you still can't find what you want, come see the librarian.

Logging into the Databases from Home

From school, clicking on any of the database links will get you directly in to any database.

From home, you need login credentials because these are subscription (that is, paid-for) databases. Click on the image below to access the Google Doc containing the passwords. You must be signed in with a Northern Highlands account to view these passwords.

Having trouble? Email the librarian at goldbergj@northernhighlands.org, or stop by the Library.

How to Save Links in Databases

Unlike those of a free website, database URLs are dynamic. That means that they change, so if you copy and paste a URL from a database into a Google Doc, the link will not work.

Permanent links are found in different places in different families of databases. The table below will show you where to find permanent links to the database pages you want to visit again.

Permanent links
Company	Look for	Screenshot
Gale	Get link in upper right corner
EBSCO	Permalink near the end of the list on the right
Infobase	Record URL Scroll to the bottom of the page
JSTOR	Link on the left, below the image of the journal.
Proquest	In the top right corner, click All Options. You will see the link on the top of the page.	.

Help! My Teacher Is Making Us Work in Groups!

Working in collaborative groups can be challenging! Here is a short, animated video that describes the benefits of collaborative projects, tips for organizing your group, and how to deal with common problems that arise when students work together. Watch it with your group and discuss! Then develop a plan for getting the work done well, fairly, creatively, and maybe even enjoyably!

Ask OWL!

OWL: Purdue Online Writing Lab
OWL provides free, high-quality resources on research, citation, and all aspects of writing. Here, you can find the answer to a grammar question, learn how to say more in fewer words, and get advice about writing for specific audiences, tasks, and subject areas. Click on the Site Map for a peek at the astonishing breadth of information available on OWL.
Originally developed at Purdue University for the benefit of their own students, OWL has become a resource for students worldwide. It's been online since 1995, before most people had ever heard of the Internet!

How to Locate Books

NHRHS Destiny Library Catalog
This is the catalog of all 14,000 books in the Northern Highlands Library. You can see whether the book is available and where you can find it on the shelves. Don't see what you want? Just ask!
BCCLS Catalog
BCCLS (Bergen County Cooperative Library System) owns over 5 million books, plus audiobooks, music, movies, databases, local history collections, and so much more! All you need to access it is your local library card. You can place a request for a book located anywhere in the system, and they will deliver it to your local library for you. Need help accessing it? Just ask!

NoodleTools

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is not a database, but a suite of software that:
* Does your MLA, Chicago, or APA citation for you
* Allows you to create flexible notecards to keep your research perfectly organized and avoid accidental plagiarism.
* Has a built-in outline tool that can make an instant rough draft of your paper
* Keeps you and your partners organized with project-management tools
* Contains resources about the research, writing, and citation process
* Provides answers to individual student questions about citation
* Allows teachers to create a dropbox where they can comment on your work

NOTE: Use NoodleTools instead of free online tools. The citations are more accurate, and it contains many more features to help you organize your research and avoid plagiarism.
To create an account from school, go to the website, then follow the process for setting up and individual account within Northern Highlands. This is the best way to do it.

If you haven't created an account within school, use
UserID: nhrhs
Password: highlanders
to authenticate yourself as a Northern Highlands student, then follow the steps for creating a personal account.
DO NOT create a free account. It's a stripped-down version with few features.

Get Organized! Stay Organized!

In Freshman Seminar, all ninth graders created a NoodleTools account. If you have forgotten the username and password you created for NoodleTools, click on the "Forgot Password" link to reset it. If that doesn't work, see the librarian. She can look up your login credentials and get you access to your account.

Remember that NoodleTools has useful project management tools to help your group organize tasks, stay on top of deadlines, and take accurate notes you can easily sort into an outline. Use the resources available to you!

If you have any questions about citations or using any of the features in NoodleTools, stop by the Library.

US History Resources: Home

US History I & II Resources

On this page, you will find all the resources you will need to find and cite reliable sources for your US History research paper.

If you need help, you can stop by the Library or email goldbergj@northernhighlands.org. Don't wait until the last minute!