 |
You and your partners will create an 8-slide presentation on the causes of the War of 1812, its key battles, its resolution, and its significance. Each slide can contain only 1 P.E.A. (Point, Evidence, Analysis). You will be required to refer to 2 primary source documents. This assignment is meant to test your histography skills. Therefore, you must debate with your partners about what is important enough to include and what should be excluded, since you can't squeeze the entire history of the war into 8 slides. Be good historians! |
| (1910 painting by Edward Percy Moran of Battle of New Orleans. Courtesy of Library of Congress) |
The War of 1812 Portal Page This portal page about from U.S. History in Context includes links to reference material, primary documents, images, essays, and periodicals of all kinds. This should provide one-stop shopping for most groups.
The War of 1812 A variety of reference sources on the War of 1812, through a range lenses, from Gale Virtual Reference Library. (Notice which source each article is coming from to understand the perspective you're likely to find in it).
Other History databases to explore Search this topic in other NH history databases for more information.
From school, clicking on any of the database links will get you directly in to any database.
From home, you need login credentials because these are subscription (that is, paid-for) databases. Click on the image below to access the Google Doc containing the passwords. You must be signed in with a Northern Highlands account to view these passwords.
Having trouble? Email the librarian at goldbergj@northernhighlands.org, or stop by the Library.
Unlike those of a free website, database URLs are dynamic. That means that they change, so if you copy and paste a URL from a database into a Google Doc, the link will not work.
Permanent links are found in different places in different families of databases. The table below will show you where to find permanent links to the database pages you want to visit again.
| Company | Look for | Screenshot |
|---|---|---|
| Gale |
Get link |
 |
| EBSCO |
Permalink |
 |
| Infobase |
Record URL Scroll to the bottom of the page
|
|
| JSTOR |
Link on the left, below the image of the journal. |
 |
| Proquest | In the top right corner, click All Options. You will see the link on the top of the page. |
|
1. Log in to your NoodleTools account. (Forgot your login info? Contact the librarian.)
2. Create or open a project.
3. Follow the instructions for exporting a citation from each kind of database. Find the article you want, and then:
| Gale | Click Cite  at the top right of the page, then select "Export to NoodleTools." |
| EBSCO | Click on the right-hand menu, then click  . Select the last item in the list, which is  . |
| JSTOR | Click  in the left-hand menu. Scroll down past the three citations and select  , the first item on the list. |
|
INFOBASE |
Click  directly under the article title. Then click  . |
| PROQUEST | Click  in the upper right menu. Scroll down past the citation. You do NOT need to change the citation format at the top! Select  , then Continue on the next screen. |
4. Refresh your Sources page, and there you will see a perfectly-formatted MLA citation.
5. To print or export all your sources into a pre-formatted Works Cited page, select the printer icon at the top of your Sources page, then choose what program you want your citations exported to.
. 
