LibGuides: Visual Symbolism Project: Home

Historical and Intellectual Context

Transcendentalism A variety of reference sources on Transcendentalism, from literary, philosophical, and historical perspectives, from Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Transcendentalism A portal page about Transcendentalism from U.S. History in Context

Puritanism A variety of reference sources on Transcendentalism, from literary, philosophical, and historical perspectives, from Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Puritanism A portal page about Puritanism from U.S. History in Context

Other History databases to explore Search this topic in other NH history databases for more information.

Other Literature databases Search this topic in other NH history databases for more information.

Today's America

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Having a clear, compelling point of view on todays most debated political and social issues requires finding the most credible facts and insights. Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints simplifies your search by bringing together thousands of resources to provide authoritative articles, research reports, videos, and statistics. This database steers you away from unreliable content that online browsers sometimes serve up and helps you draw your own conclusions about global warming, the minimum wage, and hundreds of other debated topics.
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal,. and Washington Post..
SEARCH TIP: if you find a newspaper article online behind a paywall, search the title in this database. HOWEVER! The online titles sometimes change throughout the day, so if you don't find it, try searching by the author's name. If you still can't find what you want, come see the librarian.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Probably the library's most comprehensive resource, this multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Psychological Interpretive Systems

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks is a database of specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Search here for reference articles about Jung and Freud, critical theory, unconscious, etc.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. This is a vast database, so you can get specific with your keywords. Try [Jung* Hawthorne Scarlet Letter]
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Probably the library's most comprehensive resource, this multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. To add more literary sources, select "Choose Databases" above the search box to add Literature Reference Center. Try a search like [Jungian archetypes] to get an idea of what you might find here.

Resources from Mr. Wodnick

Jung Campbell Intro 2024

Freud Intro 2024

Visual Symbolism Project

VSP Source List

How to Locate Books

NHRHS Destiny Library Catalog
This is the catalog of all 14,000 books in the Northern Highlands Library. You can see whether the book is available and where you can find it on the shelves. Don't see what you want? Just ask!
BCCLS Catalog
BCCLS (Bergen County Cooperative Library System) owns over 5 million books, plus audiobooks, music, movies, databases, local history collections, and so much more! All you need to access it is your local library card. You can place a request for a book located anywhere in the system, and they will deliver it to your local library for you. Need help accessing it? Just ask!

Logging into the Databases from Home

From school, clicking on any of the database links will get you directly in to any database.

From home, you need login credentials because these are subscription (that is, paid-for) databases. Click on the image below to access the Google Doc containing the passwords. You must be signed in with a Northern Highlands account to view these passwords.

Having trouble? Email the librarian at goldbergj@northernhighlands.org, or stop by the Library.

How to Save Links in Databases

Unlike those of a free website, database URLs are dynamic. That means that they change, so if you copy and paste a URL from a database into a Google Doc, the link will not work.

Permanent links are found in different places in different families of databases. The table below will show you where to find permanent links to the database pages you want to visit again.

Permanent links
Company	Look for	Screenshot
Gale	Get link in upper right corner
EBSCO	Permalink near the end of the list on the right
Infobase	Record URL Scroll to the bottom of the page
JSTOR	Link on the left, below the image of the journal.
Proquest	In the top right corner, click All Options. You will see the link on the top of the page.	.

NoodleTools Instant Database Citations

Instantly export database citations to NoodleTools

1. Log in to your NoodleTools account. (Forgot your login info? Contact the librarian.)

2. Create or open a project.

3. Follow the instructions for exporting a citation from each kind of database. Find the article you want, and then:

Gale	Click Cite at the top right of the page, then select "Export to NoodleTools."
EBSCO	Click on the right-hand menu, then click . Select the last item in the list, which is .
JSTOR	Click in the left-hand menu. Scroll down past the three citations and select , the first item on the list.
INFOBASE	Click directly under the article title. Then click .
PROQUEST	Click in the upper right menu. Scroll down past the citation. You do NOT need to change the citation format at the top! Select , then Continue on the next screen.

4. Refresh your Sources page, and there you will see a perfectly-formatted MLA citation.

5. To print or export all your sources into a pre-formatted Works Cited page, select the printer icon at the top of your Sources page, then choose what program you want your citations exported to.

Visual Symbolism Project: Home

Visual Symbolism Project Resources