LibGuides: Learning About Diversity @ Your Library: Course Materials: Selecting Classroom Resources for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Thoughts to get started

Our Professional Organizations Are On It!

Almost every organization involved in teaching and learning is working to conduct research and provide resources for educators who need to create more inclusive classrooms. Here are some subject-specific organizations. I have included links, searches, or guidance on how to locate the DEI resources on each organization's website, but please view these links merely as starting points. These are multi-layered websites with publications, resources, conference proceedings, and much more to explore.

ACTFL--American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages
Resources that Address Issues of Race, Diversity, and Social Justice.
SHAPE America: Society of Health and Physical Educators
Blogs, podcast episodes, and more from the Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee. See also their Transgender Inclusion page, plus other LGBTQ Resources .
National Council for the Social Studies
Diversity, equity, and inclusion results from NCSS. Note the menu of subtopics on the left.
National Council of Teachers of English
This is the Diversity Initiatives page, which links to other caucuses. Also, try the search box using [diversity equity inclusion OR DEI] to see more results.
National Business Education Association
Unfortunately, all their DEI materials are behind a membership-only paywall. What does this tell us?
National Science Teaching Association
The article at this link lays out principles of inclusive science education and provides links to other resources. Click on
this search to find more NSTA diversity resources and initiatives.

Here are DEI resources for teachers of any subject.

Educators For Antiracism
Educators for Antiracism is an educator's source for the practical tools needed to inform, support, and carry out the work of creating antiracist classrooms, schools, districts, and teacher education programs. We are a bridge between the educators doing the work, communities of color, and scholars who can point us towards sound, best practices. Our work consists of the following: (1) producing webinars and an annual conference, (2) developing research, (3) developing new educator resources, and (4) reviewing and promoting excellent educator antiracism resources, books, and programs.
Learning for Justice
Formerly called Teaching Tolerance, Learninig for Justice, a project of the Southern Poverty Law Center, provides every kind of resources you can name devoted to advance the human rights of all people.
National Education Association
NEA's initiative for Just & Equitable Schools includes rich resources and training materials.
Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network (GLSEN)
Founded by a group of teachers in 1990, GLSEN supports educators and students through curriculum, advocacy, and programs. This link goes to their Educator Resources page.
NH Diversity LibGuide--Disability Page
Scroll down to the websites and click on Disability in History and Society.
Anti-Racism in Academia: Decolonizing the Curriculum
Decolonising the Curriculum focuses on the concept that curricular design has been historically male and white. By decolonising the curriculum a more varied approach is taken as to cultures and perspectives that are presented and studied for a broader contextual perspective. Here are resources from Oxford University on the concept and key texts.

Northern Highlands Is On It!

Learning About Diversity @ Your Library
Our ever-growing list of resources about various kinds of diversity, curated specifically for Northern Highlands students and teachers.
NH Diversity and Equity Resources
Curated by Jeff Krapels and by Northern Highlands teachers, this is an ever-growing list of DEI resources, organized by subject area.

Awards do some of the work for you

NoveList Plus This link opens in a new window
NoveList has a section devoted to award winners, and you might be surprised to learn about all the different kinds of awards given for all kinds of diverse books. In the top left corner, mouse over Browse By and select Award Winners. Use the menu on the right to choose a genre, look at the most popular awards in the center, or scroll down for a link to ALL awards! THERE ARE SO MANY!

YALSA--Find Great Teen Books!
YALSA is the Young Adult Services Association of the American Library Association. On this page, you can find their searchable database of outstanding books for teens. Click on Browse By Award Winner to view ALA award-winners in several categories.

Databases as selection tools

All of our Northern Highlands databases are excellent resources for finding articles, videos, podcasts, images, short stories, and more. If you tell me what you're looking for, I can show you how to find it and share it with students. If you are looking for articles about teaching particular topics, try your search in this EBSCO custom search widget to get started.

Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Organized into a user-friendly portal experience, Biography in Context allows users to find people based on occupation, role, or historical period, or search based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as by keyword and full text. Biography is built on a foundation of more than 600,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Providing coverage of the most searched and studied people, Biography includes over 5,000 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures. Reference content is offered alongside videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers. This resource is continuously updated to ensure users have access to the latest information.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Having a clear, compelling point of view on todays most debated political and social issues requires finding the most credible facts and insights. Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints simplifies your search by bringing together thousands of resources to provide authoritative articles, research reports, videos, and statistics. This database steers you away from unreliable content that online browsers sometimes serve up and helps you draw your own conclusions about global warming, the minimum wage, and hundreds of other debated topics.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
U.S. History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. U.S. History merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Probably the library's most comprehensive resource, this multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.Professional Development Collectionis the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
From home:
UserID: nhrhs
Password: highlanders20!
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal,. and Washington Post..
SEARCH TIP: if you find a newspaper article online behind a paywall, search the title in this database. HOWEVER! The online titles sometimes change throughout the day, so if you don't find it, try searching by the author's name. If you still can't find what you want, come see the librarian.