It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources for Mrs. Perlman's Vegetable project in Foods.
This resource from the Canadian government has an easy-to-use interface-- just point and click at your vegetable to find nutritional information, a guide to selecting the freshest, ripest ones, storage information, and preparation tips. Click on "Browse Recipes" on the right, then use the search bar at the top right to find healthy recipes featuring your vegetable.
The USDA (U.S. Department of Agriculture) publishes this website to inform consumers about food health, safety, and nutrition. The website is currently being updated. To find recipes, click on MyPlate Kitchen and search your vegetable.
This databases searches all the major newspapers in the U.S., all of which publish LOTS of recipes. Do a search for your vegetable and the word recipe, (i.e. cauliflower recipe) to find lots of interesting new ways to prepare your vegetable.
Access from home.
Search any vegetable to find articles from magazines, newspapers, journals, and reference sources. To quickly narrow down to the relevant articles, open one that has your vegetable listed as a Subject, and click on the vegetable's name. Here, you will find recipes, gardening tips, and health information about your vegetable of choice.
Logging into the Databases from Home
From school, clicking on any of these links will get you directly to any database.
From home, it's a little trickier. These are subscription databases, which means that someone (either the state of NJ or Northern Highlands) has paid for you to have access, so you have to prove that you are entitled to access them.
For Gale, Infobase, Proquest, JSTOR, and Oxford databases, use the following login credentials:
For EBSCO databases, use:
If you have any difficulty logging in, please email the librarian @ firstname.lastname@example.org, or stop by the Library.
How to Save Links in Databases
Unlike those of a free website, database URLs are dynamic. That means that they change, so if you copy and paste a URL from a database into a Google Doc, the link will not work.
Permanent links are found in different places in different families of databases. The table below will show you where to find permanent links to the database pages you want to visit again.
Scroll to the bottom of the page
Use the URL as you would with an ordinary website.