LibGuides: The Big Honking Hamlet Paper: Home

Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. These journals are applicable to almost any subject, but be aware that these are academic texts, aimed at researchers who are already familiar with the basics of a topic.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Probably the library's most comprehensive resource, this multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world. Researchers with a literature, history, arts, gender studies, or cultural studies focus can use this resource to analyze authors and works throughout time.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Reproduction of thousands of works of literary criticism. While not in the most user-friendly format, this is a rich resource for literary studies, from Shakespeare through the 20th century.

How to Save Links in Databases

Unlike those of a free website, database URLs are dynamic. That means that they change, so if you copy and paste a URL from a database into a Google Doc, the link will not work.

Permanent links are found in different places in different families of databases. The table below will show you where to find permanent links to the database pages you want to visit again.

Permanent links
Company	Look for	Screenshot
Gale	Get link in upper right corner
EBSCO	Permalink near the end of the list on the right
Infobase	Record URL Scroll to the bottom of the page
JSTOR	Link on the left, below the image of the journal.
Proquest	In the top right corner, click All Options. You will see the link on the top of the page.	.

Websites Recommended by Mr. Leib

Hamlet Works
"Hamletworks.org offers deep levels of information on Hamlet and related works for scholars, students, theater practitioners, and fans."
Early Modern Literary Studies
A full-text online journal of 16th & 17th century English Literature.

Logging into the Databases from Home

From school, clicking on any of the database links will get you directly in to any database.

From home, you need login credentials because these are subscription (that is, paid-for) databases. Click on the image below to access the Google Doc containing the passwords. You must be signed in with a Northern Highlands account to view these passwords.

Having trouble? Email the librarian at goldbergj@northernhighlands.org, or stop by the Library.

Research, Writing, and Citation Help

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is not a database, but a suite of software that:
* Does your MLA, Chicago, or APA citation for you
* Allows you to create flexible notecards to keep your research perfectly organized and avoid accidental plagiarism.
* Has a built-in outline tool that can make an instant rough draft of your paper
* Keeps you and your partners organized with project-management tools
* Contains resources about the research, writing, and citation process
* Provides answers to individual student questions about citation
* Allows teachers to create a dropbox where they can comment on your work

NOTE: Use NoodleTools instead of free online tools. The citations are more accurate, and it contains many more features to help you organize your research and avoid plagiarism.
To create an account from school, go to the website, then follow the process for setting up and individual account within Northern Highlands. This is the best way to do it.

If you haven't created an account within school, use
UserID: nhrhs
Password: highlanders
to authenticate yourself as a Northern Highlands student, then follow the steps for creating a personal account.
DO NOT create a free account. It's a stripped-down version with few features.

OWL: Purdue Online Writing Lab
OWL provides free, high-quality resources on research, citation, and all aspects of writing. Here, you can find the answer to a grammar question, learn how to say more in fewer words, and get advice about writing for specific audiences, tasks, and subject areas. Click on the Site Map for a peek at the astonishing breadth of information available on OWL.
Originally developed at Purdue University for the benefit of their own students, OWL has become a resource for students worldwide. It's been online since 1995, before most people had ever heard of the Internet!

The Big Honking Hamlet Paper: Home

Databases

How to Save Links in Databases

Websites Recommended by Mr. Leib

Logging into the Databases from Home

Research, Writing, and Citation Help

Librarian