It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Big Honking Hamlet Paper: Home
All the resources you will need to write the best Big Honking Hamlet Paper EVER!
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. These journals are applicable to almost any subject, but be aware that these are academic texts, aimed at researchers who are already familiar with the basics of a topic.
Probably the library's most comprehensive resource, this multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world. Researchers with a literature, history, arts, gender studies, or cultural studies focus can use this resource to analyze authors and works throughout time.
A full-text online journal of 16th & 17th century English Literature.
Logging into the Databases from Home
From school, clicking on any of the database links will get you directly in to any database.
From home, you need login credentials. These are subscription databases, which means that someone (either the state of NJ or Northern Highlands) has paid for you to have access, so you have to prove that you are entitled to access them. Click on the image below to access the Google Doc containing the passwords. You must be signed in with a Northern Highlands account to view these passwords.
NoodleTools is not a database, but a suite of software that:
* Does your MLA, Chicago, or APA citation for you
* Allows you to create flexible notecards to keep your research perfectly organized and avoid accidental plagiarism.
* Has a built-in outline tool that can make an instant rough draft of your paper
* Keeps you and your partners organized with project-management tools
* Contains resources about the research, writing, and citation process
* Provides answers to individual student questions about citation
* Allows teachers to create a dropbox where they can comment on your work
NOTE: Use NoodleTools instead of free online tools. The citations are more accurate, and it contains many more features to help you organize your research and avoid plagiarism.
To create an account from school, go to the website, then follow the process for setting up and individual account within Northern Highlands. This is the best way to do it.
If you haven't created an account within school, use
to authenticate yourself as a Northern Highlands student, then follow the steps for creating a personal account.
DO NOT create a free account. It's a stripped-down version with few features.
OWL provides free, high-quality resources on research, citation, and all aspects of writing. Here, you can find the answer to a grammar question, learn how to say more in fewer words, and get advice about writing for specific audiences, tasks, and subject areas. Click on the Site Map for a peek at the astonishing breadth of information available on OWL.
Originally developed at Purdue University for the benefit of their own students, OWL has become a resource for students worldwide. It's been online since 1995, before most people had ever heard of the Internet!