Skip to main content

World History Research Paper Resources: Home

Everything you need to research and write your World History research paper.

On this page, you will find all the resources you will need to find and cite reliable sources for your World History research paper.

If you need help, you can stop by the Library or email goldbergj@northernhighlands.org. Don't wait until the last minute!

Historical Topics Databases

Contemporary Topics Databases

How to Save Links in Databases

Unlike those of a free website, database URLs are dynamic. That means that they change, so if you copy and paste a URL from a database into a Google Doc, the link will not work.

Permanent links are found in different places in different families of databases. The table below will show you where to find permanent links to the database pages you want to visit again. 

Permanent links
Company Look for Screenshot
Gale Get link
EBSCO Permalink
Infobase

Record URL

Scroll to the bottom of the page

JSTOR
Proquest   Use the URL as you would with an ordinary website.

How to Locate Books

Logging into the Databases from Home

From school, clicking on any of these links will get you directly to any database.
From home, it's a little trickier. These are subscription databases, which means that someone (either the state of NJ or Northern Highlands) has paid for you to have access, so you have to prove that you are entitled to access them.
For Gale, Infobase, Proquest, JSTOR, and Oxford databases, use the following login credentials:
UserID: nhrhs
Password: highlanders

 

For EBSCO databases, use:
UserID: nhrhs
Password: highlanders20!

 

If you have any difficulty logging in, please email the librarian @ goldbergj@northernhighlands.org, or stop by the Library.
 

NoodleTools

Get Organized! Stay Organized!

In FLT, all ninth graders create a NoodleTools account. If you have forgotten the username and password you created for NoodleTools, click on the "Forgot Password" link to reset it. If that doesn't work, see the librarian. She can look up your login credentials and get you access to your account.

Remember that NoodleTools has useful project management tools to help your group organize tasks, stay on top of deadlines, and take accurate notes you can easily sort into an outline. Use the resources available to you!

If you have any questions about citations or using any of the features in NoodleTools, stop by the Library.

Ask OWL!

Help! My Teacher Is Making Us Work in Groups!

Working in collaborative groups can be challenging! Here is a short, animated video that describes the benefits of collaborative projects, tips for organizing your group, and how to deal with common problems that arise when students work together. Watch it with your group and discuss! Then develop a plan for getting the work done well, fairly, creatively, and maybe even enjoyably!

Librarian

Julie Goldberg's picture
Julie Goldberg
Contact:
298 Hillside Avenue
Allendale, NJ 07401
Website