LibGuides: Modern India : Home

Databases

Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
To find information on these 8 topics, you can try a few strategies:
1. Type India into the search box. You will see links to portal pages for Topic #4--Religious Tension and Topic #6--Caste Conflict
2. For other topics, select the portal page for India and use the "Search Within Results" box to find information relating to the other topics (i.e. "Child Labor"). Click on all the categories at the top to see different types of articles.
3. Or, find portal pages related to your topic, and search within those results for "India." Relevant portals include:
* Population Issues
* MANY portal pages in the "Environment and Climate" section (i.e. Air Pollution)
* Child Labor
* LGBTQ+ Rights
* Coronavirus: COVID-19
*Disability Rights
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal,and Washington Post, plus many more sources of current events information.
This database is not very well-indexed, so get specific with your keywords.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Probably the library's most comprehensive resource, this multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Logging into the Databases from Home

From school, clicking on any of the database links will get you directly in to any database.

From home, you need login credentials because these are subscription (that is, paid-for) databases. Click on the image below to access the Google Doc containing the passwords. You must be signed in with a Northern Highlands account to view these passwords.

Having trouble? Email the librarian at goldbergj@northernhighlands.org, or stop by the Library.

Assignment with Links

Modern India Performance Task

NoodleTools Instant Database Citations

Instantly export database citations to NoodleTools

1. Log in to your NoodleTools account. (Forgot your login info? Contact the librarian.)

2. Create or open a project.

3. Follow the instructions for exporting a citation from each kind of database. Find the article you want, and then:

Gale	Click Cite at the top right of the page, then select "Export to NoodleTools."
EBSCO	Click on the right-hand menu, then click . Select the last item in the list, which is .
JSTOR	Click in the left-hand menu. Scroll down past the three citations and select , the first item on the list.
INFOBASE	Click directly under the article title. Then click .
PROQUEST	Click in the upper right menu. Scroll down past the citation. You do NOT need to change the citation format at the top! Select , then Continue on the next screen.

4. Refresh your Sources page, and there you will see a perfectly-formatted MLA citation.

5. To print or export all your sources into a pre-formatted Works Cited page, select the printer icon at the top of your Sources page, then choose what program you want your citations exported to.

How to Save Links in Databases

Unlike those of a free website, database URLs are dynamic. That means that they change, so if you copy and paste a URL from a database into a Google Doc, the link will not work.

Permanent links are found in different places in different families of databases. The table below will show you where to find permanent links to the database pages you want to visit again.

Permanent links
Company	Look for	Screenshot
Gale	Get link in upper right corner
EBSCO	Permalink near the end of the list on the right
Infobase	Record URL Scroll to the bottom of the page
JSTOR	Link on the left, below the image of the journal.
Proquest	In the top right corner, click All Options. You will see the link on the top of the page.	.

Modern India : Home

Intro