Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Welcome to the Northern Highlands Library!: Library How-To Videos & Quick Guides

Everything you need to know about your school library

Find Paywalled Newspaper Articles

As a Northern Highlands student or teacher, you can access articles from the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, and Los Angeles Times for free through our Proquest U.S. Major Dailies database. This video shows you how. 

Logging into the Databases from Home

 

From school, clicking on any of the database links will get you directly in to any database.

From home, you need login credentials. These are subscription databases, which means that someone (either the state of NJ or Northern Highlands) has paid for you to have access, so you have to prove that you are entitled to access them. Click on the image below to access the Google Doc containing the passwords. You must be signed in with a Northern Highlands account to view these passwords.

 

 

Having trouble? Email the librarian at goldbergj@northernhighlands.org, or stop by the Library.

Video Walkthrough: Learning About Diversity @ Your Library

For the January 17, 2022 Professional Development Day, here is a brief walkthrough of the resources on the Learning About Diversity @ Your Library LibGuide. 

Export Citations to NoodleTools

Every single database Northern Highlands subscribes to now lets you directly export citations into NoodleTools! This makes writing a research paper much easier! Watch this video to learn how to instantly export citations from all Gale, EBSCO, ProQuest, JSTOR, and Infobase articles.

NoodleTools Instant Database Citations

Instantly export database citations to NoodleTools

1. Log in to your NoodleTools account. (Forgot your login info? Contact the librarian.)

2. Create or open a project. 

3. Follow the instructions for exporting a citation from each kind of database. Find the article you want, and then:

 

Gale Click Cite  at the top right of the page, then select "Export to NoodleTools." 
EBSCO Click on the right-hand menu, then click . Select the last item in the list, which is 
JSTOR Click in the left-hand menu. Scroll down past the three citations and select , the first item on the list.

INFOBASE

Click  directly under the article title. Then click .
PROQUEST Click  in the upper right menu. Scroll down past the citation. You do NOT need to change the citation format at the top! Select , then Continue on the next screen.

 

4. Refresh your Sources page, and there you will see a perfectly-formatted MLA citation.

5. To print or export all your sources into a pre-formatted Works Cited page, select the printer icon at the top of your Sources page, then choose what program you want your citations exported to.

Get Started with Sora

Now you can read ebooks and audiobooks on any of your devices with the new Sora app! In the video below, you'll learn how to set up Sora, add the New Jersey Collection to expand the books available to you, and how to link it to your public library card account to give you access to thousands more! Don't have a public library card? Get one here.

How to Save Links in Databases

Unlike those of a free website, database URLs are dynamic. That means that they change, so if you copy and paste a URL from a database into a Google Doc, the link will not work.

Permanent links are found in different places in different families of databases. The table below will show you where to find permanent links to the database pages you want to visit again. 

Permanent links
Company Look for Screenshot
Gale

Get link
in upper right corner

EBSCO

Permalink
near the end of the list
on the right 

Infobase

Record URL

Scroll to the bottom of the page

 

JSTOR

Link on the left, below the image of the journal.

Proquest In the top right corner, click All Options. You will see the link on the top of the page.

.