Probably the library's most comprehensive resource, this multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Organized into a user-friendly portal experience, Biography in Context allows users to find people based on occupation, role, or historical period, or search based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as by keyword and full text. Biography is built on a foundation of more than 600,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Providing coverage of the most searched and studied people, Biography includes over 5,000 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures. Reference content is offered alongside videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers. This resource is continuously updated to ensure users have access to the latest information.
Gale In Context: Global Issues supports global awareness and provides a global perspective while tying together a wealth of authoritative content, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world. Explore issues within government, law, health, science and technology, society and culture, and more.
Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more, Global Issues is updated daily and offers 250 country pages and more than 400 issue pagess.
Having a clear, compelling point of view on todays most debated political and social issues requires finding the most credible facts and insights. Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints simplifies your search by bringing together thousands of resources to provide authoritative articles, research reports, videos, and statistics. This database steers you away from unreliable content that online browsers sometimes serve up and helps you draw your own conclusions about global warming, the minimum wage, and hundreds of other debated topics.
Gale In Context: Science is an engaging online resource providing contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. By integrating authoritative, curriculum-aligned reference content with headlines and videos, Gale In Context: Science draws researchers into the subject matter, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity.
U.S. History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. U.S. History merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
World History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. World History merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
New / Trial Databases
Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies provides users with comprehensive information regarding today's environmental issues, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand important topics that affect people around the world. The database is updated daily with relevant content integrating case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more on subjects such as climate change, food security, soil ecology, and tourism. ReadSpeaker and on-demand article translation accommodates diverse backgrounds. Citation tools for formatting into MLA, APA, and Chicago style are integrated directly into the user's workflow and can be easily imported from single or multiple documents to services like NoodleTools.
Gale In Context: For Educators merges quality, standards-aligned material with ready-to-use lesson plans across a variety of disciplines and offers instructional tools to help teachers achieve their professional goals. With in-product resources in our Learning Center, teachers can take the lead in developing online teaching skills and instruction strategies and better support inquiry-based learning. For Educators empowers teachers to discover and customize digital learning content and foster an equitable and culturally responsive classroom by incorporating diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) materials, social and emotional learning (SEL) content, and soft skills development into everyday lessons. Because when teachers succeed, students do too.
Explore thousands of topics across subjects including literature, science, history, and social issues using different sources. Need more detail? Go to the appropriate Gale in Context resource for your topic.
Gain a deeper understanding of literary texts through a wide variety of contextual resources like videos, images, infographics, eBooks and more. Browse topics, or search by author, title, genre, era, theme, or literary term.
Gale Power Search is not a separate database, but a tool that searches some or all of Northern Highlands' Gale databases simultaneously. Choose the ones you want, or search them all at once. It will return a large number of results from a wide range of sources, but it is not organized into portals. If your topic is limited to a particular discipline (i.e. environmental science, U.S. history), then use the specific database for that discipline. Power Search can be helpful for topics that cross disciplines or are in an area such as philosophy that might not fit neatly into the categories of our other Gale databases.
Prepare for standardized tests with eBooks, online courses, and full-length practice tests for GED, SAT, ACT, AP, PSAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, TOEFL, U.S. citizenship, and more in Gale Presents: Peterson’s Test and Career Prep. Research undergraduate and graduate programs, finding tuition assistance, and exploring and preparing for careers whether you’re entering the workforce for the first time or searching for new opportunities. A variety of interactive methods prompt personalized career recommendations and insight on programs, knowledge, skills, and ability. Search for jobs and create visually interesting résumés, cover letters, and websites that can be externally shared with prospective employers, using prebuilt templates.
